Ralph McQuarrie

Posted on March 8, 2012

0


Ralph McQuarrie has died. I will save you the gratuitous lines about how much our world is darkened now that he is gone, and how big of a hero he is to me. The truth is, like probably a lot of people who won’t admit it now, I barely had him on my day to day radar until I saw a Yahoo byline about his death. However, I got curious and looked deeper into his work and have concluded that its kind of a shame that we weren’t having conversations about him regularly.

McQuarrie was an illustrator and concept artist; “the designer behind the look of Star Wars” the headlines will tell you. He also worked on about half a million things you’ve heard of, including Battlestar Galactica, E.T., and the Back to the Future ride at Universal Studios. He could draw a hell of a space ship.

And this is where the blog gets awkward. I don’t want to get too grab-y with images, so I will just encourage you to take a look at his website to see not only some of the work, but also small stories about some of the projects. It looks like this:

http://www.ralphmcquarrie.com/index.html

