Celebrity Geek-dar – Frances Bean Cobain?

Posted on August 13, 2011

2


I’m always fascinated by little details of celebrity photos which might (or might not) give us an unintentional glimpse into their underlying tastes and hobbies.  Frances Bean Cobain’s (Kurt Cobain and Courtney Love’s daughter) shoot with Hedi Slimane caught my eye because I’ve always been a little fascinated with her and also because there are a couple of interesting elements thrown in with the rock and roll.

I’m not saying its enough to truly say she’s a geek, just saying its enough to make you ask yourself if she (or someone else involved in the shoot) might be – in some photos she’s wearing a Wolverine graphic tee, and in others her shirt reads “Beam me up Scotty, there’s no intelligent life down here”.

 

Maybe she doesn’t give a shit about Wolverine – maybe she’s too young to even  understand the Scotty reference. Or maybe she does. At any rate, I’d add this shoot to the stylebook of nerdy style that I approve of. I’ve written before on my philosophy that geek shirts should be worn as rock tees – this is that concept in practice.

 

 

 

Here’s to hoping that she can live out of the shadow of her parents’ sadness..  Live long and prosper, Frances Bean.

See it all at http://www.hedislimane.com/diary/.

