Things I Saw on the Internet That I Wish I Could Take Credit For.. But I Can’t. (Aubrey Plaza, Fashion Tips From Comic Strips, Mario Warfare)

Posted on February 2, 2012

2


Some days I look around the internet, and I see things that I wish I could blog, but someone else already blogged it. So, for today, here is a list of things I saw on the internet that I wish I could take credit for, but I can’t.

Aubrey Plaza World of Warcraft Commercial

This came into my world courtesy of Nylon Blogs. I must admit, I didn’t really know a lot about Aubrey Plaza, except that her character made Parks and Recreation. I didn’t care for the early episodes of Parks and Recreation; then all of the sudden it had a turning point. It was like they figured out who the character April was, and then the show got good. At first they thought she was a semi-vapid apathetic generic facebooking girl. Luckily they realized she wasn’t vapid or generic. Just hateful. And dry. To me, she plays the character perfectly- there’s a tendency to make funny girl characters dumb, and I’m glad she doesn’t play it that way. I also like that she doesn’t have a squeaky voice.

Anyway, I digress, I like the ad because her delivery is much like the character.

See the original post on Nylon here.

Jump From Paper Handbags

  This line of bags is two dimensional. Not actually, they’re trompe-l’œil. (If you’re not a fashiony type at all, that means its made to give the illusion of something other than what its structure is. Tuxedo t shirts also qualify.) I’m not going to lie, I’m not sure I could carry one because they really mess with my eyes. But I really dig the idea in theory, and the look of their shoots.

And now you’re thinking “Hey wait.. she said she wasn’t going to take credit for these things.. Where did she lift this from?” Don’t worry, I am going to give credit to the site that showed me this. That brings me to my next item..

Pretty much everything on Fashion Tips from Comic Strips

Yeah, that’s right. The blog that showed  me Jump From Paper is pretty much The Shit. (I mean that in the vernacular good way.) Betty Felon, rumored to be the alter ego of Comic Alliance’s Bethany Fong, (which is the mild-mannered one?) delivers exactly what the blog title suggests. There are comic-style manicures, t shirts, masks, Wonder Woman underwear, cosplay pics, fashion/comic sketches.. I could go on. And since its a Tumblr, its total page eyecandy.

I don’t want to overstep my bounds, but I feel like I need to put up a pic to encourage you to click on the site, because its that awesome. So here’s what it looks like:

Princess Peach drops the good-girl act… WTF?

When I first saw this on Trend Hunter, my thoughts largely consisted of “wtf?” But a bit more research reveals that Mario Warfare is an upcoming webseries from Beat Down Boogie.

Honestly, while the pink guns originally caught my eye, I must say I’m a bit conflicted about almost any Princess Peach revamp. The character never really appealed to me much; when I was a kid, she was wearing exactly what I had nightmares of being forced to wear. In all the different visions I’ve seen of her, it seems that in order to make the character recognizable, it has to include elements that put me off. So, while I like the guns, the hair, and the attitude, I just don’t know if I can get past the poof dress.

